## No. 3(6)/2017-CLES Government of India Ministry of Electronics & Information Technology

Electronics Niketan New Delhi-110003 Dated: 31st July, 2017

## OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Subject: Constitution of a Committee of Experts to deliberate on a data protection framework for India

The Government of India is cognizant of the growing importance of data protection in India. The need to ensure growth of the digital economy while keeping personal data of citizens secure and protected is of utmost importance.

2. It has thus been decided to constitute a Committee of Experts under the Chairmanship of Justice B N Srikrishna, Former Judge, Supreme Court of India, to identify key data protection issues in India and recommend methods of addressing them. The constitution of the group and terms of reference are as follows:

a)	Justice B N Srikrishna, Former Judge,	- Chairperson
	Supreme Court of India	
b)	Smt. Aruna Sundararajan, Secretary,	- Member
	Department of Telecom	
c)	Dr Ajay Bhushan Pandey, CEO,UIDAI	- Member
d)	Dr Ajay Kumar, Addl Secretary, MeitY	- Member
e)	Prof Rajat Moona, Director, IIT, Raipur	- Member
f)	Dr. Gulshan Rai,	- Member
	National Cyber Security Coordinator	
g)	Prof. Rishikesha T. Krishnan,	- Member
	Director, IIM, Indore	
h	Dr. Arghya Sengupta, Research Director,	- Member
	Vidhi Centre for Legal Policy	
i)	Ms. Rama Vedashree, CEO, DSCI	- Member
j)	Joint Secretary, MeitY	- Member Convener

## 3. Terms of Reference

- a) To study various issues relating to data protection in India
- b) To make specific suggestions for consideration of the Central Government on principles to be considered for data protection in India and suggest a draft data protection bill.

Contd...2/-

- 4. The Committee may co-opt other members in the Group for their specific inputs.
- 5. MeitY shall in consultation with the Chairperson and members, collect necessary information and provide it to the Committee within 8 weeks of the date of this OM to enable it to start its deliberations on the subject.
- 6. The Committee shall endeavour to submit its report as expeditiously as possible.
- 7. The expenditure towards TA/DA in connection with the meetings of the group in respect of the official members will be borne by their respective Ministries/Departments. Domestic travel in respect of non-official members would be permitted by Air India (Business Class) and the expenditure would be met by MeitY.

(Rakesh Maheshwari) Group Coordinator, Cyber Law & UIDAI

mpheshwis.

To

- 1) Justice B N Srikrishna, Former Judge Supreme Court of India
- 2) Smt. Aruna Sundararajan, Secretary,
- 3) Dr Ajay Bhushan Pandey, CEO, UIDAI
- 4) Dr Ajay Kumar, Addl Secretary, MeitY
- 5) Prof Rajat Moona, Director, IIT, Raipur
- 6) Dr. Gulshan Rai, National Cyber Security Coordinator
- 7) Prof. Rishikesha T. Krishnan, Director, IIM, Indore
- 8) Dr. Arghya Sengupta, Research Director, Vidhi Centre for Legal Policy
- 9) Ms. Rama Vedashree, CEO, DSCI
- 10) Joint Secretary, MeitY

Copy to:

- i) PS to Hon'ble, Minister (E&IT)
- ii) PS to Hon'ble MoS (E&IT)
- iii) OSD to Secretary, MeitY
- iv) All Group Coordinators, MeitY