No.4(8)/2017-ITEA Government of India

Ministry of Electronics & Information Technology

Electronics Niketan, 6 CGO Complex (Emerging Technologies Division)

New Delhi-110003 Dated: 07.02.2018

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Subject:- Constitution of four Committees for promoting Artificial Intelligence (AI) initiatives and developing a policy framework.

The undersigned is directed to say that in order to promote emerging technologies such as Artificial Intelligence (AI) and to develop a Policy Framework, it has been decided to constitute four committees to propose action in the areas of Platform and Data for AI, Leveraging AI for identifying National Missions in Key Sectors, Mapping Technological capabilities key policy enablers required across sectors, skilling and re-skilling R&D and Cyber Security, Safety, Legal & Ethical issues.

- 2. The constitution of the four Committees and Terms of Reference(ToR) are as below:
 - A. Committee on Platforms and Data for Al The focus of this committee will be on building models/frameworks/platforms for collaborative work:

i۱		Prof P. P. Chakraborty, IIT Kharagpur	Chairman
!/			
ii)		Ms. Neeta Verma, DG, NIC	Member
iii)		Prof Anupam Basu, Dir N.I.T. Durgapur	Member
iv)	10	Prof Pushpak Bhattacharya, Dir IIT Patna	Member
V)		Rep. from DST	Member
vi)		Rep. from (Google)	Member
vii)		Shri Gautam Shroff (TCS)	Member
viii)		Shri. Ganesh Mahabala (NVIDIA)	Member
ix)		Shri Anant Maheshwari, Microsoft	Member
x)		Rep. from NASSCOM	Member
xi)		Dr. S. K. Srivastava, Scientist 'G', MeitY	Member
xii)		Ms. Kavita Bhatia, Scientist 'F' MeitY	Member Convener

B. Committee on Leveraging AI for identifying National Missions in Key Sectors:

i	Prof Rajeev Sangal, IIT (BHU)	Chairman
''		
ii)	Prof. Santanu Chaudhury, Dir CEERI Pilani	Member
iii)	Prof Hema Murthy, IIT Madras	Member
iv)	Prof. Anil Gupta, IIMA and Sristy	Member
V)	Prof C.V. Jawahar, IIIT Hyderabad	Member
vi)	Dr. Narendra Ahuja, DIC	Member
vii)	Shri Sanjay Sinha, IBM Watson	Member
viii)	Prof B. Yegnanarayana, IIIT Hyderabad	Member
ix)	Rep. from NASSCOM	Member
x)	Rep. of NeGD	Member
xi)	Dr. B. K. Murthy, GC R&D in IT	Member Convene

C. Committee on Mapping Technological capabilities, Key Policy enablers required across sectors. Skilling and Re-skilling, R & D:

ner

D. Committee on Cyber Security, Safety, Legal and Ethical Issues:

i)	Prof. Rajat Moona, Director IIT Bhilai	Chairman
ii)	Shri A. S. Ramasastri, Director IRDBT	Member
iii)	Prof. SV Raghavan	Member
iv)	Dr. Sanjay Bahl, DG Cert In	Member
V)	Dr. S. K. Srivastava, Scientist 'G', MeitY	Member
vi)	Shri Ashish Ghosh, ISI Kolkatta	Member
vii)	Prof. Ponnurangam Kumaraguru, IIIT Delhi	Member
viii)	Rep. from NIC	Member
ix)	Rep. from DSCI, NASSCOM	Member
x)	Rep. from Symantec	Member
xi)	Ms. Kavita Bhatia, Scientist 'F' MeitY	Member Convenor

Terms of Reference of the committees for Al Initiatives:

- The committee shall identify Key areas of applications for Al technologies and make suitable recommendation/suggestions for the faster adoption of Al in these areas.
- ii. The committee would also identify areas in Government systems where Al techniques can be deployed to lower cost and improved service.
- iii. The committee would also suggest technical framework/ platform for Al. This would also address data availability resources.
- The committee should recommend policy relating to legal framework, data privacy and Cyber Security issues.
- v. Suggest ways to address /concern about use of AI employability, skilling and Re-Skilling challenges.
- vi. The committee will recommend R&D framework for promoting research in the Al areas and setting up of Centre of Excellence (CoE) in these areas.
- The Chairmen of the committees can co-opt/invite experts to the committee as and when required. TA/DA for non-official members would be borne by MeitY as per Government norms.
- This issues with the approval of Secretary, Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology.

(Rajesh Suri) Deputy Director

- 1. Chairmen, Members and Member Convenors of the Committees.
- 2. PAO, MeitY / DDO, MeitY
- JS(GS)/GC(BKM) / Dir(KB)
- 4. OSD to Secretary, MeitY